Location: Gemsberg / Lower Heuberg
Artist: Heinrich Rudolf Meili (character) / Urs Bargetzi (trough)
In operation since: 1861
History / Description: In the 12th Century was here Sodbrunnen. 1318 this had to be shut down due to lack of water. 1360, a new fountain, the "drought Sod" was built. This was replaced in 1861 with today's Gems Fountain. The watering trough is octagonal and its mass is one of the largest fountains in the city. Since the lane for a long time "Gembsenberg" was called, it was decided that a mountain goat to be the fountain floor. In order to bring the wells into the city at all, it needed a part of the walls are broken. 24 (!) Horses dragged the wagon along with the fountain of Solothurn Basel. Even today, the then draft at the fountain trailer builders Bargetzi in Solothurn is a "witness" is available.
Special features: The chamois that feels up there in the coldest time of year most comfortable was the first cast-iron fountain in a Basel wells. The cast iron was then very fashionable, so there are many wells in Basel, with figures from this material.